• <samp id="mvlkh"></samp>
    <small id="mvlkh"></small><acronym id="mvlkh"><sup id="mvlkh"></sup></acronym>

    1. <optgroup id="mvlkh"></optgroup><span id="mvlkh"></span>
      <optgroup id="mvlkh"><em id="mvlkh"></em></optgroup>

        1. <span id="mvlkh"></span>

            1. <track id="mvlkh"></track><span id="mvlkh"></span>


              Under the direction of the ICSD Secretariat, the voluntary but highly respectful role of an ICSD President is to act as a spokesperson for the Deaflympics and World Deaf Championships events and to preside ICSD Congresses.  That is just to name a few responsibilities of the leadership position. 

              Below are the names of the ICSD/CISS Presidents, years in the role, and quick background facts:

              photo: Eugene  Rubens-Alcais

              Eugene Rubens-Alcais

              Founder and first President (1924-1953), an auto mechanic by profession, came to be known as the deaf version of Baron de Coubertin, the father of the modern Olympics.

              photo: Oscar  Ryden

              Oscar Ryden

              Second President (1953-1955), a Swedish joiner and woodcarver, sculptor, editor and lecturer.

              photo: Jens Peter Nielsen

              Jens Peter Nielsen

              Third President (1955-1961), a Danish carpenter and lifelong organizer and leader of deaf sports.

              photo: Pierre  Bernhard

              Pierre Bernhard

              Fourth President (1961-1971), a French carpenter, wood sculptor, coffin maker, World War II resistance fighter and author.

              photo: Jerald M. Jordan

              Jerald M. Jordan

              Fifth President (1971-1995), an American printer, teacher, Director of Admissions and Records at Gallaudet University in Washington DC, and the first CISS President to receive the Olympic Order from the IOC, in 1995.

              photo: John M. Lovett

              John M. Lovett

              Sixth President (1995-2003), an Australian government administrator who put Australia on the world map of deaf sports.

              photo: Donalda Kay Ammons

              Donalda Kay Ammons

              Seventh President (2003-2009), an American educator and professor at Gallaudet University in Washington DC, who was appointed acting president upon the untimely death of John M. Lovett. At the 2005 Congress she was officially elected to the president position.

              photo: Craig Andrew Crowley

              Craig Andrew Crowley

              Eighth President (2009-2013), A British Chief Executive Officer with senior and executive management experience in voluntary organisations. Craig was previously a sports coach and a Deaflympian.  He was also the founding President (Chair) of UK Deaf Sport.

              photo: Valery Nikitich Rukhledev

              Valery Nikitich Rukhledev

              Ninth President (2013-2018), a six-time Deaflympics Champion in Wrestling, one of the ten top ICSD/Deaflympics Athlete of the Century Award recipients, prominent public and political figure on the national and international levels, and long-time deaf sports Executive in his country.

              photo: Rebecca  Adam

              Rebecca Adam

              ICSD President (2018-2019), appointed President upon the early retirement of Dr. Valery Rukhledev.  An Australian executive, Rebecca was previously chair of the ICSD Legal Commission and established the Women in Sports Commission.

              photo: Kang  Chen

              Kang Chen

              Tenth ICSD President (2019-2020), one of the figures in Deaf Sports Movement in Chinese Taipei and the 2009 Taipei Summer Deaflympics Organizing Committee. He is officially elected ICSD Vice President-World Sports during 2013 - 2019.

              photo: Gustavo de Araujo  Perazzolo

              Gustavo de Araujo Perazzolo

              Eleventh ICSD President (2021-), one of the figures in Deaf Sports Movement in Brazil and PANAMDES. He is officially elected ICSD President during 48th ICSD Extraordinary Congress in Lausanne, Switzerland. Former athlete in Deaflympics (2009 and 2013) and former athlete in World Deaf Handball Championships (2008 and 2014).